PRESENTATION AND TERROIR
The lion’s share of the estate is located in the Pech Redon area, meaning round hill. Its Triassic sandstone has miraculous attributes for growing vines. Its good drainage prevents standing water and therefore provides a natural barrier against disease. It has the ability to store up coolness in the subsoil so that vines never suffer from drought. These slightly acid soils produce wines with high minerality and very finely textured tannins. This site is home to a plot of Syrah and another of Grenache noir.

Although Caves de Paris is only 500m away as the crow flies, it has Villafranchian soils. Distinctively Mediterranean in nature, it is home to compact clay which holds water in summer and pebbles that store up the sun’s heat and radiate it back by night. A naturally low-cropping site, it yields very powerful, rich, spicy wines with high tannin presence. Very good acidity means the wines are always fresh. A plot of Grenache noir and another of Carignan are located here.

VARIETAL RANGE & VINE AGE
Southern varieties only – 25-50-year-old Grenache noir, 30-year-old Syrah and 60-year-old Carignan

HARVESTING AND WINEMAKING
All our vines are harvested by hand and the fruit is sorted in the vineyard. The grapes are destemmed and transferred to the tank using a conveyor belt. Winemaking is simple and low-tech with no added yeast. Temperature control provides gentle extraction, particularly at the start of fermentation. Each plot is fermented separately and blending takes place throughout the maturation process in Burgundy casks previously used for 3 to 6 wines.

BLEND
55% Grenache, 30% Syrah, 15% Carignan


Download the technical sheetlogo-pdf

LES TERROIRS
La plus grosse partie du domaine est située sur le secteur de Pech Redon ( la colline ronde) :Ce terroir de grès du trias est une merveille agro-pédologique . Très drainant, l’eau n’y stagne jamais et donc prévient naturellement des maladies. Son intérêt vient de sa capacité à emmagasiner de la fraîcheur en sous sol permettant aux vignes de ne jamais souffrir de la sécheresse. Sols à tendance légèrement acides, ils donnent des vins très minéraux avec une texture de tannins très fine.

Nous avons sur ces sols une parcelle de Syrah et une de Grenache Noir.

Les Caves de Paris bien que distant de seulement 500 m à vol d’oiseau, est un secteur de Villafranchiens. C’est un vrai terroir méditerranéen, avec des argiles compactes qui retiennent l’eau en été, et des galets roulés qui restituent la chaleur du soleil pendant les nuits. Naturellement peu productif, ce secteur donne des vins très puissants riches et épicés. Les tannins sont très présents, et grâce à une très bonne acidité les vins ont toujours de la fraîcheur.

Nous avons sur ces sols une parcelle de Grenache Noir et une de Carignan .

LES CÉPAGES – AGE DES VIGNES
Uniquement des cépages sudistes :
20 à 50 ans pour les Grenaches Noir,
30 ans pour les Syrah ,
60 ans pour les Carignans.

VENDANGES ET VINIFICATION
Toutes les vignes sont vendangées à la main, le tri se fait à la vigne. Les raisins sont égrappés et acheminés à la cuve par tapis transporteur . Des vinifications simples sans technologies, sans levures ajoutées…Un contrôle des températures permettant des extractions douces surtout en début de fermentation .Chaque parcelle ayant été vinifiée séparément l‘assemblage se construit au fur et à mesure de l’élevage en fûts bourguignons de 3 à 6 vins.

ASSEMBLAGES
55% GRENACHE, 30% SYRAH , 15% CARIGNAN.


télécharger la fiche techniquelogo-pdf

 

commandez les vins à la boutique en ligneboutique shop vin internet languedoc magellan pezenas